Academic Advisory Board

CEE's Academic Advisory Board was established in 2012 in order to advise on all aspects of department operations, including curricula, education, research, governance, finances, climate, outreach and global engagement. The board met for the first time in February 2013 and will continue to meet on campus once a year. Members of the board are appointed to four year terms, renewable once 

Current members of the board:

Linda Abriola

Linda Abriola is Dean of Engineering and Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Tufts University. She also holds an Adjunct Professor appointment in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering. Prior to joining Tufts, she was a faculty member in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Michigan, where she directed the Environmental and Water Resources Engineering Program. She is an expert in the multiphase transport, fate, and recovery/destruction of contaminants in the subsurface. She has been the recipient of a number of awards, including the Association for Women Geoscientist's Outstanding Educator Award and the National Ground Water Association's Distinguished Darcy Lectureship. Dr. Abriola received her Ph.D. and Master’s degrees from Princeton University and a Bachelor's degree from Drexel University.


Glen Daigger

A recognized expert in wastewater treatment, especially the use of biological processes, Glen Daigger is currently a Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer for CH2M HILL where he has been employed for 32 years. He also served as Professor and Chair of the Environmental Systems Engineering Department at Clemson University, and currently serves as President of the International Water Association. He has authored or co-authored more than 100 technical papers, four books, and several technical manuals. Dr. Daigger is the recipient of numerous awards, including the Kappe, Freese, and Feng lectures and the Harrison Prescott Eddy, Morgan, and the Gascoigne Awards from Water Environment Federation. Dr. Daigger is a member of the National Academy of Engineers, as well as a number of other professional societies.


David Daniel

David Daniel is currently the fourth president of The University of Texas at Dallas. Prior to his appointment at UT Dallas, he headed the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois before being named as Dean of Engineering. Dr. Daniel’s professional work has focused on geoenvironmental issues associated with waste containment and clean-up of contaminated sites with particular emphasis on low-permeability clay materials used in lining and capping systems. His work has been recognized by the American Society of Civil Engineers, which awarded him the Norman Medal and on two separate occasions the Croes Medal. In 2000, he was elected to the National Academy of Engineering. Dr. Daniel earned bachelor's, master's, and Ph.D. degrees in engineering from The University of Texas at Austin.


Nicholas Jones

Nicholas Jones is Executive Vice President and Provost of the Pennsylvania State University. His undergraduate degree in Civil Engineering is from the University of Auckland in his home country of New Zealand, and he holds an M.S. and Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from California Institute of Technology. Prior to his appointment at Penn State he served as the Benjamin T. Rome Dean of the Whiting School of Engineering at Johns Hopkins University and previously as Professor and Chairman of Civil Engineering. He also served for two years as Professor and Head of the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He has received several awards for teaching and for research and he maintains professional associations with the American Society of Civil Engineers and the American Association for Wind Engineering.


Robert Street

Robert Street earned his master's and Ph.D. engineering degrees at Stanford University, where he is now the William Alden and Martha Campbell Professor in the School of Engineering [Emeritus] and Professor of Fluid Mechanics and Applied Mathematics in the Departments of Civil and Environmental Engineering and (by courtesy) Mechanical Engineering [Emeritus]. His research focuses on the modeling of turbulence in fluid flows, which are often stratified, and includes numerical simulation of coastal upwelling, internal waves and sediment transport in coastal regions, flow in rivers, and valley winds in the atmosphere. Among other honors, Dr. Street has been awarded the ASCE's Huber Prize for Distinguished Research, the Karl Emil Hilgard Hydraulic Engineering Prize, and the Hunter Rouse Hydraulic Engineering Award. Dr. Street is a Distinguished Member of the American Society of Civil Engineers and a member of the National Academy of Engineers.


Andrew Whittle

Andrew Whittle is the Edmund K. Turner Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Massachusetts Institute of Technology. He received his B.Sc. from Imperial College of Science and Technology in London, and his ScD. from MIT. Professor Whittle's research interests are centered around geotechnical engineering, and includes analysis methods for foundations, excavations and tunnels, and constitutive models for geomaterials. He has published more than 100 papers in refereed journals and conferences and has received several awards from the American Society of Civil Engineers including the Walter L. Huber research prize, James R. Croes Medal and the Thomas A. Middlebrooks Award, which is awarded annually for the best paper in geotechnical engineering. Whittle became a member of the National Academy of Engineering in 2010.