Bernard Delbert Murphy Scholarship in Civil and Environmental Engineering

Bernard Delbert Murphy attended the University of Illinois as the 1926 Dewitt County appointee of the annual University of Illinois county scholarship (highest examination results). He received his B.S. in Civil Engineering with high honors in 1930. He was a member of Tau Beta Pi – Engineering Honor Society and Chi Epsilon – Civil Engineering Honor Society. His career spanned over five decades in the public and private sector of civil engineering in both the United States and abroad.

Scholarships are provided to undergraduates in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering. Preference is given to students in Dewitt County, IL, or its surrounding areas that are studying Hydrology or Structures. If there are no students from that geographic area available to receive the scholarships in any given year, then the scholarships may be awarded to other students in CEE, with preferences to those studying Hydrology and Structures.

The award is given in two equal payments: one during the Fall semester and one during the Spring semester.

Past recipients:

2021     Joyce Li, Johnson Nguyen, Cameron Tonkery

2020     Leah Courtney, Dale Robbennolt, Tyler Maxwell

2019     Eamon Homedi, Sam Swislow

2018    Luke Hanselman, Jessica Wiegand

2017     Michael Bianchini, Deisy Diaz Gonzalez, Aliaa Taha

2016     Courtney Ackerman, Matthew Tan