Norman Carlson Scholarship

University Alumnus Norman Carlson and his wife Mary established the Norman Carlson Scholarship Fund in 2005 to encourage students to pursue careers in the rail industry. Carlson graduated from the UIUC College of Commerce and Business Administration in 1964 with a B.S. in Accountancy. He has spent his career in service to the railroad industry and has written and published extensively on the history and technology of railways. The fund provides scholarship to students in railroad or transportation engineering.

The award is made in two equal payments: one in the Fall semester and one in the Spring semester.

Past recipients:

2024     Sam Mencimer

2023     David Wasilewski

2022     Thomas Stogin

2021     Kevin Di

2020     Matthew Parkes

2019     Geordie Roscoe

2018     Jasmine Munoz

2017     Brendan Schmit

2016     Thomas Roadcap

2015     Darkhan Mussanov

2013     Anna Delheimer, Matthew Greve

2012     Scott Schmidt

2011     Samuel L. Sogin

2010     Michael A. Wnek, Amanda L. Koenig

2009     Brennan M. Caughron, Michael A. Wnek

2008     Bryan Schlake

2007     Mark H. Dingler

2006     John C. Zeman