Chester P. Siess Award

In 1978, when Professor Siess retired, his students established the Chester P. Siess Award to recognize his contributions to civil engineering education, research, and practice. The award is presented to an outstanding graduate student in civil engineering to enable the student to attend a professional society conference. A faculty committee makes the selection on the basis of scholastic achievement, and interest and promise in research.

The award is given during the Spring semester.

Past recipients:

2020     Kiseok Kim, Haoran Yu

2019     Sami Pant

2018     Lucas Djehdian, Steven Hand

2017     Negin Alemazkoor, Jorge San Juan Blanco

2016     Brian Shoener, Reshmina William

2015     Yanning Li, Jeff Wallace

2014     Youngjib Ham, Lauren Logan

2013     Piyush Chaunsali, Lu Zhang

2012     Peter Stynoski, Jiansong Zhang

2011     Yong Joo Lee, Joshua S. Steelman

2010     Yuanyuan Liu, Moochul Shin

2009     Xiaopeng Li, Soheil Soghrati

2008     Matthew A. Beyer, Han-Hsiang Wang

2007     Won Hee Kang

2006     Dae-Jin Kim, Yi-Chen Yang