Klein and Hoffman Inc. Scholarship in honor of Frank Klein

The Klein and Hoffman Inc. Scholarship in honor of Frank Klein was established in 1997 by Klein’s firm. Klein earned his bachelor’s degree in architectural engineering in 1940 and his master’s degree in civil engineering in 1949, both from University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Early in his distinguished career, Klein was active in the Illinois Section of American Society of Civil Engineers, and served as President of the Illinois Section in 1964. He was honored by the Illinois Section as Chicago Civil Engineer of the Year in 1982 and was awarded its Structural Division’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 1992. In 1990, Klein received the CEEAA Distinguished Alumnus Award. 

The scholarship recipient is selected on the basis of academic merit.

The award is paid during the Fall semester.

Past recipients:

2021     Luke Ahern

2020     Hannah Still

2019     Moe Thant

2018     Mark Cerabona

2017     Keith Briones

2016     Natsuki Okuda

2015     Konstandinos Zavos

2014     Ivan Chung

2013     Aditya Nagpal

2012     Daniel McCarthy

2011     Thierno I. Kane

2010     Johanna M. Gemperline and Vincent J. Kania

2009     Michael J. Clark and Amna Mahmud

2008     Matthew N. Sugihara

2007     Jodie F. Green

2006     Carol V. Peterson