skip to main content

Konar named William J. and Elaine F. Hall Faculty Fellow

6/22/2017 2:54:09 PM

Assistant Professor Megan Konar has been named the William J. and Elaine F. Hall Faculty Fellow in Civil and Environmental Engineering. The fellowship is given to faculty members in the early stages of their career who are excelling in their contributions to the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Illinois).

“I am truly flattered and humbled to be awarded the William J. and Elaine F. Hall Faculty Fellow in Civil and Environmental Engineering,” Konar said. “I appreciate the support and recognition at this critical stage in my early career, and am lucky to have such wonderful and supportive colleagues in the CEE Department at Illinois. I also want to thank my students, whose hard work and creativity is instrumental to my success.”

“Megan has received this honor in recognition of her demonstrated excellence in research, teaching, and service,” said Department Head Benito Mariñas. “I know that this is just the first of what will be many stages of recognition for her work at Illinois.”

Konar holds a B.S. (2002) in Conservation and Resource Studies from the University of California at Berkeley, an M.Sc. (2005) in Water Science, Policy and Management from the University of Oxford, and an M.S. (2009) and Ph.D. (2012) in civil and environmental engineering from Princeton University. She joined the CEE faculty in fall 2013, where she teaches courses on Water Resources Engineering and Globalization of Water.

William J. Hall is Professor Emeritus for the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering at Illinois. Hall earned his B.S. degree in civil engineering from the University of Kansas in 1948, and his M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Illinois in 1951 and 1954, respectively. He joined the CEE at Illinois faculty in 1954, served as Department Head from 1984-1991, and retired in 1993. In 2016, Hall became the inaugural holder of the CEE Alumni Association Distinguished Faculty Award.