Masud elected to ASCE EMI Board of Governors

7/15/2020 9:22:36 AM

Professor Arif Masud has been elected to the Board of Governors of the American Society of Civil Engineering’s (ASCE) Engineering Mechanics Institute (EMI) for a three-year term that begins on October 1, 2020.

The EMI Board of Governors manages the affairs of the Institute, whose mission includes serving the engineering community through the development and application of engineering mechanics by anticipating and adapting to new challenges that will face tomorrow's engineers, facilitating professional growth, promoting innovation and encouraging interdisciplinary collaboration. Masud has been an active member of EMI since 2008 and will join the Board having previously served the organization as Associate Editor of the Journal of Engineering Mechanics and the Journal of Nanomechanics and Micromechanics; Chair of the Computational Mechanics Committee of ASCE; member of the Nomination Committee for the EMI Board of Governors; and member of the EMI Awards Committee.

Masud’s research interests span stabilized and multiscale finite element methods for fluid and solid mechanics, computational biofluid dynamics, advanced numerical methods and techniques for material modeling in additive manufacturing, and new approaches to physics-constrained machine learning. He joined the faculty of the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign’s department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) in 2009, where he is the Robert H. Dodds Faculty Scholar.

In addition to his appointment in CEE, Masud also holds faculty appointments in The Grainger College of Engineering with the Holonyak Micro and Nanotechnology Lab, the department of Aerospace Engineering, and Computational Science and Engineering, and was recently appointed as Professor of Biomedical and Translational Sciences in the Carle Illinois College of Medicine. He is an Associate Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, and Fellow of EMI, American Society of Mechanical Engineers, Society of Engineering Science (SES), American Academy of Mechanics, United States Association for Computational Mechanics and the International Association of Computational Mechanics. In 2019, SES awarded Masud the G.I. Taylor Medal.