skip to main content

Two transportation area Ph.D. students receive awards

12/14/2020 11:48:27 AM

Erman Gungor is the recipient of the Council of University Transportation Centers’ (CUTC) Milton Pikarsky Memorial — Ph.D. Award. The December 2020 CEE doctoral graduate is being recognized for his thesis dissertation entitled, “Optimization of Lateral Position of Autonomous Truck Platoons to Improve Roadway Infrastructure Sustainability.” The award will be presented at the 2021 CUTC Awards Banquet in January 2021. Imad Al-Qadi, CEE professor and Illinois Center for Transportation director, advised Gungor on his thesis.

Denissa Purba won first place in the PhD-level OR/MS Tomorrow mini poster competition by the Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS). The award was created to nurture student researchers in developing the ability to summarize and articulate research ideas effectively and efficiently. Purba, who is advised by CEE assistant professor Eleftheria Kontou, submitted a poster on Evacuation Planning for Alternative Fuel Vehicles. Her winning poster is available for viewing here.